Review: Tokbox.com – Web based video chat with up to 20 people at once for free

Tokbox is a easy and great way to start video chatting with your friends, send video messages through email or videoconferencing. Tokbox is a web based service that allows you to connect with up to 20 people using their free service. Tokbox also has a downloadable desktop application (for Windows and Mac) that will allow you to make and receive calls without being to logged into the site.

Creating an account is about as easy as it gets. Its a simple short form that ask for your basic information, name, email and password then presto! Nothing is more annoying than wasting 10 minutes filling out pointless personal information just to create an account for a service that you just want to test out.

Once you have got that out of the way, you are ready to start searching for contacts from your Instant Messenger, email contacts and you can even import your friends from Facebook.

One of my favorite features is the ability to just start a video chat  and share the link with anybody, even if they don’t have an account  with Tokbox they can still join you in the video chat. Once you are in the video chat you can play videos from Youtube, show presentations with Slideshare, view your photo gallery from Flickr or Picasa and even share or collaborate on a document using EtherPad all in the chat window. Like many other sites you can share the link to Facebook, Myspace and Twitter to allow people to join you.

What makes Tokbox so attractive is the ability to have more than you and one other person included in the call. Skype users have been begging for this feature and up until now this was not available. Although it is still in a beta version, Skype still only allows 5 people in a call simultaneously. Tokbox allows up to 20 people with their free service. Now, the quality is dependent on the hosts bandwidth. So the more people that you have in the call the more bandwidth it will require so a high-speed cable ISP is recommended when having several people on at once.

The desktop application is another great feature that will allow you to use this service with out the need to log on to the website. Tokbox has a small application that uses Adobe AIR that runs on both Mac and PC. When someone calls you using Tokbox a  notice fades in giving you the option to accept or reject the call. If you do not want to be bothered you can always close the program or even set your availability status to away, busy or even create a custom status to inform people of your availability.

If you are on Facebook and you are using Firefox as your browser you can get the Tokbox add-on that will integrate with Facebooks IM. This will place an icon in your chat window on Facebook that will call the person you are chatting with, but only if they also have a Tokbox account.

There is one feature that it lacks when compared to Skype, it’s the ability to call out to traditional phone lines. This feature does not really affect me though but it may for some others. I don’t believe that Tokbox is a huge threat to Skype but it is a good alternative. The quality in Skype is much better but for some Tokbox would be a better solution especially if you are wanting to video chat with your friends that do not want to install any software to their computer. The ease of access is what makes Tokbox really stand out from the other options.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Like This!

Posted on May 21, 2010, in Reviews, VOIP and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Hello, Neat post. There’s a problem along with your website in internet explorer, might test this? IE nonetheless is the marketplace leader and a huge element of people will pass over your great writing due to this problem.

  2. If you want to take a good deal from this piece of writing then you have to apply these techniques to your won webpage.

  3. What’s up to all, how is all, I think every one is getting more from this web page, and your views are good in support of new viewers.

  4. Awesome! Its genuinely remarkable piece of writing, I have got much clear idea regarding from this
    article.

  5. Good day! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers
    and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us valuable information to work on.
    You have done a outstanding job!

  6. My relatives always say that I am wasting my time here at net, but I know I am
    getting knowledge all the time by reading thes
    pleasant posts.

  7. Thanks , I’ve recently been looking for information approximately this subject for a while and yours is the greatest I’ve came upon so far.

    However, what in regards to the conclusion?
    Are you positive about the supply?

  8. Why people still make use of to read news papers when in this technological world everything is
    accessible on web?

  9. Generally I do not learn post on blogs, however I wish to say that
    this write-up very compelled me to check out and do so!
    Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice post.

  10. It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this excellent blog! I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking
    and adding your RSS feed to my Google account.
    I look forward to new updates and will talk about this blog with my
    Facebook group. Talk soon!

  11. With havin so much written content do you ever run into any
    problems of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My blog has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the web without my permission. Do you know any methods to help reduce content from being ripped off? I’d really appreciate it.

  12. I blog frequently and I really appreciate your content.
    Your article has truly peaked my interest. I’m going to book mark your blog and keep checking for new information about once a week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

  13. Whats up are using WordPress for your site platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m
    trying to get started and create my own. Do you require any
    coding knowledge to make your own blog? Any help would be really
    appreciated!

  14. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I
    provide credit and sources back to your website?
    My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours
    and my visitors would really benefit from a lot of the
    information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with
    you. Thanks!

  15. Menopausal How To Get Rid Of Acne can be a great antioxidant and
    scavenges your tissues for free radicals and reactive oxygen that cause inflammation, aging,
    and even in there 50s. Take 2-3 teaspoons of turmeric powder, 1-2 drops of lemon juice to
    lighten them. They have to be. Every time you go to people in their 20s.
    Never attempt to pop a pimple that is already there in your kitchen cabinet.

  16. I’m not sure why but this weblog is loading incredibly slow for me. Is anyone else having this problem or is it a issue on my end? I’ll
    check back later and see if the problem still exists.

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review | Riggs Tech Blog

Leave a comment